How are you coping?

Discussion in 'Chester Bennington' started by StrictlyJohnD, Jul 26, 2017.

Sonic

Sonic Searching for the last Chaos Emerald... LPA Super Member

So it's been a few weeks now, just wanna put this question out there:

Has anyone taken any shit for grieving over this? For example, someone telling you to just get over it or by not understanding why you'd be upset over (for example) "just a rock star"?

LohithMohan

LohithMohan It's like I'm paranoid...or am I?

Well not exactly giving me shit but my parents did not really understand why I was so depressed over a singer's death despite me telling them he was my favorite and I've been listening to him for over 14 years. Dad was kinda understanding but Mom was dumbfounded. Especially just days in, I was not talking properly, hardly slept, tearing up and all that. So my parents thought it was some other serious issue and not this.
    My friends were definitely more understanding because they knew how much I adore these guys.

dontFindOutMe likes this.
    Doridorica

Doridorica Well-Known Member

Of course they do so I keep everything inside, come here or sometimes talk to a girl I met online. Chester was some insignificant person for my friends in real life and they don't ask anything and I'm even embarrassed to say I'm going to the memorial because in their opinion that's not what adults do. However, I think I'm getting better, sure I still can't watch videos or have to be in a special mood, can't listen to some songs and wonder why but it's not every day anymore that I'm very sad. I still think of him every day and am sad but it's better than it used to be.

Memory123

Memory123 Member

At work & crying right now cause I'm an emotional mess. Luckily I'm alone so it doesn't matter...

Ironically I thought I was doing better so idk where all these emotions are coming from.

StrictlyJohnD

StrictlyJohnD Go Texans & Rockets!

Thankfully, no. And even if they did mess with me about it, I'd ignore them.