iOS 5 Beta disables downgrading "baseband" - meaning what?

Discussion in 'The Living Room' started by MKH, Jul 12, 2011.

  1. #1
    MKH

    MKH Bat of Gotham LPA Super VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,310
    Likes Received:
    2



    Someone tech savy explain this to me:

    If I upgrade to the new iOS 5 beta, I can still downgrade to iOS 4.3.3 if the beta gets too glitchy for me, although Apple suggests I don't do that; however, it IS still possible.

    However, downgrading back to 4.3.3 does NOT downgrade the baseband which CAN'T be downgraded after upgrading to the iOS 5 beta, any of the 3, but what does that mean? Will that affect me using my iPhone 4 as normal with iOS 4.3.3 when I downgrade back or what?
     
  2. #2
    Jeff

    Jeff WORSHIP LPA Addicted VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    18,503
    Likes Received:
    160



    [video=youtube;Hn7B5FdwBK8]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hn7B5FdwBK8[/video]

    Just kidding.


    But seriously, what? :lol:
     
  3. #3
    MKH

    MKH Bat of Gotham LPA Super VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,310
    Likes Received:
    2



    That's what I'm saying! I've heard basebands can't be downgraded but I don't know what that means in terms of my phone working as it should D: Where's Todd when you need him?!
     
  4. #4
    Benjamin

    Benjamin LPA team LPA Super VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6,398
    Likes Received:
    3



    Just update the fucking phone, haha.

    Todd will just come in and say "fuck apple" :lol:
     
  5. #5
    Jesse

    Jesse Out of the abyss. LPA Über VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    299



    Fuck Apple.

    Filling in for Todd for the time being.
     
  6. #6
    The Doctor

    The Doctor I wear a fez now. Fez's are cool. LPA Super Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    9,516
    Likes Received:
    0



    I tried downgrading today after getting Beta 3 and it won't recognize the restore.ipsw file. Basically, I can't downgrade.
     

Share This Page