Laptop Suggestions for a College Student

Discussion in 'The Living Room' started by Louis, May 29, 2010.

Louis

Louis Message me if you need to talk. We love you all. LPA Team

Hey guys,

So, I'm going off to Berkeley next year for college and my parents are planning on getting me a brand new laptop for my graduation gift. However, they want me to decide which one I'd like first before they buy me one. I've been looking around at what I can get. As of right now the laptops that look good are Dell Studios and Macbooks. I've heard Vaios are good too, but apparently college students seem fond of HP Computers?

I'm no computer expert so to be honest with you, I was hoping you guys could help me out in getting a new laptop. I'm looking for something that's fast, has a lot of space, safe, and efficient. I'd like the computer to have a very good amount of battery life, and I want to void Dell Inspirons, because they have god awful battery life and they always seem to have problems.

What do you guys think?

Jeff

Jeff WORSHIP LPA Addicted VIP

HP has never let me down whenever ive used it.

El Muerto

El Muerto LPA Super Member LPA Super Member

Arlene

Arlene Oh what tangled webs we weave LPA Super Member

They're more on the expensive side, but I would suggest a IBM Lenovo laptop/think pad. You can customize everything with them. My whole family has one of their own and they're very reliable, fast, and easy to use. :)

Tomi

Tomi   LPA Addict

What are you going to be using it for? Are you going to be playing any games on it, doing any video editing, rending 3D animations, programming, or are you just going to use it for Internet and Word? Does it need to be a laptop, maybe a netbook would suffice, if you're not going to be using it all the time?