Missing Sound Device

Discussion in 'The Living Room' started by CloserToCrawling, Aug 17, 2006.

  1. #1
    CloserToCrawling

    CloserToCrawling Ambient

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    0



    One of my stupid cousins recently came over and messed with my computer somehow and now I am missing a sound device. The sound device is supposed to be listed under "Sound, video, and game controllers" in the device manager windows when you go to Control panel<Performance and Maintenance<System<Hardware. This means that any type of audio media cannot be played because there is nothing to play it. I troubleshooted it and still don't know how to fix it. Does anyone know how I can reinstall the sound device in my computer that allows audio files to be played? My computer is a normal Dell laptop, windows XP home edition. The other computer in my house is a desktop, same windows xp, and the sound device on there is Creative SB Live. Any help is greatly appreciated. :pcwhack:

    Edit: After wringing cousin's neck, I realized that the actual sound card is still there, as in nothing was physically removed from the computer, but no sound. He just clicked on something and deleted something and now I don't know what to do. Apparently, he doesn't know either.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2006
  2. #2
    Glenn

    Glenn Super Member LPA Super Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,865
    Likes Received:
    0



    Check the connections and the volumes. Try reinstalling your sound card's drivers. Make sure your sound card is enabled in the BIOS settings.
     
  3. #3
    CloserToCrawling

    CloserToCrawling Ambient

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    0



    Thanks for the tip Glenn. I fixed it by doing a system restore. It basically undid everything that ruined the sound in the first place.
     
  4. #4
    Glenn

    Glenn Super Member LPA Super Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,865
    Likes Received:
    0



    That's good. Just make sure any recent changes you've made to your computer are still in place.
     
  5. #5
    Mark

    Mark Canadian Beauty LPA Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    24,861
    Likes Received:
    388



    This has happened to me before when my brother ended one of the "SVChost.exe" processes in the Task Manager (Ctrl+Alt+Del). A restart always fixed the problem.
     
  6. #6
    Tomi

    Tomi &nbsp; LPA Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    16,514
    Likes Received:
    0



    Y'know, there is a reason that you don't close system processes such as svchost, eh? :p
     
  7. #7
    Evil Angel

    Evil Angel Ambient

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes Received:
    0



    Hmmm keep cousins AWAY from your PC..mayvbe dat might help in future
     
  8. #8
    Neil

    Neil Super Duper Member LPA Super Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    4,927
    Likes Received:
    0




    Unless you were one of the people to download the Half Life 2 source code package when it leaked. If you unrared it regularly, you got a new svchost...and it was baaad :p
     

Share This Page