Music Reflectionist Plays Drums!

Discussion in 'Your Projects' started by Reflectionist, Jul 23, 2013.

Reflectionist

Reflectionist Excuse me while I kiss the sky.

So, as I'm sure a lot of you know--or have heard / are annoyed because I'm kind of anally critical when it comes to drumming--I'm a drummer. I've been drumming since I was about 15, so about ten years, now... on and off. Honestly, I'm kinda poor, so I didn't always have a drum kit available to spend all my time practicing on. Usually, I practiced a few days a week after school when I was in High School, and that was about it until I got into college. I learned how to play drums almost exclusively from playing along to Hybrid Theory and Meteora, so I wanted to share a couple of videos with you of me playing.

First of all, I use a Yamaha DTXplorer kit, which is kind of limited in that there are three toms, one crash, and a ride. However, those samples can be manipulated, and my custom kit uses a ride sample for the second tom, while the actual ride cymbal is used as a china. As of right now, July 23, 2013, with the two songs I have up, I am not able to record my drum kit because I am missing ONE single adapter. It was stolen from me, and I'm waiting for replacements to be ordered once I have the money. So you're watching me drum, but you're not hearing my drums.

This is important because it suddenly becomes really, really stupid to do the typical YouTube drummer thing and just play what the fuck ever I want over the song with absolutely zero respect for the original parts as the artist intended them to be. I have to make it look like I'm actually playing that song, exactly how it sounds in the recording. (I think it's better this way, because if you do just make something up over the original song, you're not really letting that drummer's style influence your playing, which is a huge part of furthering yourself as a drummer!)