Virus Isn't Being Detected on Webroot SpySweeper

Discussion in 'The Living Room' started by Shrazer235, Jun 21, 2008.

  1. #1
    Shrazer235

    Shrazer235 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0



    Guess what? I have a bunch of Trojan type viruses, plus some appearent "network worm", and my Anti-Spyware program doesn't notice it in any of the sweeps it does. I've another anti-spyware program that came with this AT&T Yahoo browser, and it doesn't notice the viruses either.

    So, since it's bloody obvious that I've got at least one terrible virus and I don't wanna buy a new anti-spyware program, how the hell do I get rid of them? I've already lost my desktop backround.


    Okay, nevermind. I got SOMETHING, but I'm still getting a bubble from something in the tool bar that links me to a page for an Anti Spyware program. I can't tell what program's doing this though.
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2008
  2. #2
    minuteforce

    minuteforce Danny's not here, Mrs. Torrance. LPA Team

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    12,705
    Likes Received:
    1,593



    Um ... post a HijackThis! log and someone around here'll be able to understand it, I'll bet. Otherwise, try some other anti-virus programs, I guess ...
     
  3. #3
    Tomi

    Tomi   LPA Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    16,514
    Likes Received:
    0



    Scan in safe mode.
     
  4. #4
    Shrazer235

    Shrazer235 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0



    My brother put it in safe mode and started the scan and now it seems to be fine. :D

    Aww, fuck, I'm still getting a tool bar bubble.

    [​IMG]

    Oh, and:

    [​IMG]

    I can't download any sort of anti spyware.
    The fuck? I can't download ANYTHING. uTorrent still works though, but only for what I've already downloaded and opened in it. :/ I wonder if I could get a torrent downloaded with my PS3, but it wouldn't download the actual application for it earlier.
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2008
  5. #5
    Tomi

    Tomi   LPA Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    16,514
    Likes Received:
    0



    Start > Run > 'msconfig' > look for anything odd in the startup tab. Use google.

    Make sure you fully remove the offender from the system, as you're just disabling it from starting up with that checkbox.
     
  6. #6
    Neil

    Neil Super Duper Member LPA Super Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    4,927
    Likes Received:
    0



    That's because the toolbar popup IS spyware. They infect your machine, then pop that up to try to get you to buy their useless software. Windows won't let you download it for whatever reason because of the security settings. Download superantispyware ... that should get rid of it.

    http://downloads2.superantispyware.com/downloads/SUPERAntiSpyware.exe
     
  7. #7
    Shrazer235

    Shrazer235 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0



    :/ You know, I have NO idea what the fuck was wrong. My dad did a PC Recovery, and now everything's fine.
     
  8. #8
    Neil

    Neil Super Duper Member LPA Super Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    4,927
    Likes Received:
    0



    Someone using the computer probably clicked a bad link with internet explorer. This is why I recommend firefox. Firefox isn't as integrated into windows as IE, so its not as easy to compromise your system through some simple exploits.
     

Share This Page